Science Gossip Talk

Genus designation?

• simonddrew by simonddrew

A cursory browse of Wikipedia shows that the taxonomy for these plants (fig. 65 & 66) is an ongoing field of study. The drawings do not make it easy to guess, and I am no expert! I was tempted to insert Disocactus phyllanthoides, but decided against. What is the established procedure?

Posted

• jules by jules moderator

Good question. This could be one for our FAQ. In a similar vein, I've come across articles where there are disagreements about taxonomy and it is not obvious which name to go for.

Posted

• ssgiris by ssgiris moderator

Jules wrote: "disagreements about taxonomy and it is not obvious which name to go for."

This is a great description of a situation where I apply the hashtag #historicaltaxonomy. In cases such as this, I use the Genus species name found on the page, tagging the same illustration multiple times with each potential name found in the text. For keywords, I would include: historical taxonomy;classification; new species, as well as botany, zoology, etc.

I would hashtag ASC0000hkz with #historicaltaxonomy. The figures are of plants newly acquired in Britain, and accompany text describing the taxonomic classification discussion.

Please note, however, that figs 65 and 66 are of Cactus alata. The first callout for figure 65 is on the previous page, embedded in text describing Cactus alata, from the Organ Mountains, Rio Janeiro (sic). A second callout for fig 65 and the callout for fig. 66 are embedded in text on this page describing the flowers and leaves of the same plant (Cactus alata).

The callout for fig 67 is embedded in the text for Dioscorea cinnamonmifolia, common name yam. Text says this is a male plant, and discussion is of monoecious (separate plants bear either male or female flowers) and dioecious (same plant bears flowers of both sexes).

ssgiris

Posted

• JANEJ by JANEJ